Buffs put two on all-conference grid team

Nathan Oster

The Greybull Buffs put two players on the all-conference team and one on the all-state squad following a campaign in which they went 3-5 overall and placed sixth in league play.

Seniors Jake Schlattmann and Aiden Reece were the all-conference selections and Schlattmann made the all-state team for a second consecutive season.

Shoshoni, which won the West, led the way with 10 all-conference selections, followed by Rocky Mountain with eight and Wind River with seven.

Schlattmann led the Buffs in nearly every statistical category and, as he did in his junior season, was up among the statewide leaders in 1A nine-man in defensive points.

Schlattmann ranked sixth in the state, averaging 20 defensive points per game.  His final line consisted of 81 tackles, eight tackles for loss and two fumble recoveries.

On offense, Schlattmann led the team in rushing, gaining 369 yards on 74 attempts and averaging 52.7 yards per game, and scored a team-high seven touchdowns.

Schlattmann also ranked second on the team in receiving yards with nine catches for 193 yards and two scores.

“He was somebody the team always looked to, a silent leader who had the ability to rally the team and make guys want to be better,” said Coach Jeremy Pouska.  “He’ll be someone we miss having in the program.”

Reece missed the first two conference games due to injury, but did enough in his final four to earn his second straight all-conference selection.

“The games he was able to play, he made huge contributions,” said Pouska.  “He was someone the other teams had to prepare for. With his explosive speed, when he was able to get in the open field, he made some huge plays for us.”

A senior, Reece led the Buffs in receiving (230 yards on 15 receptions while ranking third in scoring (two touchdowns) and fourth in rushing (25 yards on 12 carries).

Defensively, Reece ranked eighth on the team in points with 34. He finished the year with 15 tackles, an interception and four pass break-ups.

Coach Jeremy Pouska said several other Buffs earned recognition as well, making either second-team all-state or second-team all-conference.

Reece, Bryan Galvez, Cannon Cook, Chase Oster and Beto Diaz-Rios were named second team all-staters. Oster, Diaz and Galvez were named second-team all-conference.



Shoshoni: Julian Cabello, Cannon Campbell, Korbin DeWitt, Trey Fike, Dom Jarvis, Kellen Linnan, Tucker Maddock, Alex Mills, Jaxon Stanley, Pehton Truempler

Rocky Mountain: Maddox Ames, Kelden Boettcher, Dylen Clendenen, Brady Fossen, Jackson Hanusa, Nate Minemyer, Ben Simmons, Carsyn Weber

Wind River: Casey Befus, Cooper Frederick, Carter Fowler, Jaycee Herbert, Tucker Jensen, Calder Johnson, Blake Snyder. 

Big Piney: Caden Clifford, Karsyn Gurr, Thomas Howard, Zach Murphy, Ruben Stoutenberg 

Riverside: Dylan Alexander, Porter Duncan, Ty Strohschein 

Greybull: Aiden Reece, Jake Schlattmann 

Wyoming Indian: Teryn Martel

Offensive Player of the Year: Pehton Truempler (Shoshoni)

Defensive Player of the Year:  Dylan Alexander (Riverside)

Lineman of the Year: Tucker Jensen (Wind River)

Special Teams Player of the Year: Karsyn Gurr (Big Piney)

Coaching Staff of the Year: Shoshoni



Pine Bluffs: Tayler Beeken, Ryan Fornstrom, Collin Jessen, James Langlois, Stu Lerwick, Diego Paniagua, Dalton Schaefer, Alex Sloan 

Shoshoni: Cannon Campbell, Korbin DeWitt, Trey Fike, Dom Jarvis, Alex Mills, Jaxon Stanley, Pehton Truempler

Big Piney: Karsyn Gurr, Thomas Howard, Ruben Stoutenberg

Rocky Mt.: Maddox Ames, Jackson Hanusa, Nate Minemyer, Carsyn Weber

Wind River: Casey Befus, Cooper Frederick, Tucker Jensen, Calder Johnson 

Lingle-Ft. Laramie: Louden Bremer, Kaiden Riggs

Southeast: Wyatt Campbell, Austin Short

Lusk: Miles Ashurts, Dayne Lamp

Greybull: Jake Schlattmann

Riverside: Dylan Alexander

Saratoga: Heston Fisher 

Wright: Parker Worman

Offensive Player of the Year:  Stu Lerwick (Pine Bluffs)

Defensive Player of the Year:  Ryan Fornstrom (Pine Bluffs)

Co-Lineman of the Year: Diego Paniagua (Pine Bluffs) & Tucker Jensen (Wind River)

Special Teams Player of the Year: Austin Short (Southeast)

Coaching Staff of the Year: Pine Bluffs